Grants & Awards

Harriet Fuller Rust Grant

The Harriet Fuller Rust Facade Program is designed to improve the appearance, safety, structural integrity, and quality of their storefronts and buildings as a whole in the City’s central business district.

This grant program is named after Harriet Fuller Rust, in recognition of her many contributions to the community. Many Bloomington area organizations have benefited from Mrs. Rust’s time and energy over the years. She served with many community service organizations including 37 years on the United Way of McLean County board of directors, as a board member and president of Victory Hall Home for Boys, the Advisory Council to the Bloomington Board of Education, Illinois Shakespeare Society Vice President, Illinois Wesleyan University President’s Club, president, and the McLean County Historical Society board of directors. Mrs. Rust’s can-do spirit was seen in the aftermath of a fire that damaged the McLean County Historical Society in 1972 and participated in raising $320,000 to get the museum back on its feet. As board president, she accomplished the library material restoration program, expanded the museum’s size, and acquired a 30-year lease on the Old Courthouse building to house the museum. Mrs. Rust is the recipient of many awards, including the city of Bloomington’s “Preservationist of the Year Award” (1995) and “Illinois Museum Trustee of the Year” (1998).

For further information and to apply, follow this link >

 Jean Anderson Downtown Improvement Award

This award recognizes and honors individuals who significantly contribute to the revitalization of Downtown Bloomington. This award is named in honor of Jean Anderson, who served on the Bloomington City Council from 1989 until her death in 1996. Jean’s dedication and leadership set the stage for the downtown renaissance by pioneering the idea of public and private involvement in downtown. Her hard work, persistence, and faith began a success story for the city’s historic core.


Nominations can be sent to the office or you can scan and send the form by e-mail. Please include the individual’s name, a list of contributions made to Downtown Bloomington (details including dates are key), and your comments on your nominees’ outstanding qualities. Please include YOUR contact information so we may contact you if we have further questions.

2019: Tricia Stiller
2018: Bill and Bev Anderson
2017: Jonell Kehias
2015-2016 – Joel Alan Neal

2014: Ruthie Cobb
2013: Valerie Dumser
2012: Joann Goetzinger and Martha Burk
2011: Julie Kubsch
2010: Jamie and Kelly Mathy
2009: Herb and Pamala Eaton
2008: Darrell Hartweg
2007: Karen Schmidt
2006: Greg Koos
[/one_half] [one_half_last]2005 : Elaine Sebald
2004: Tim & Vicki Tilton
2003: John Copenhaver
2002: Jan Lancaster
2001: Russel Francois
2000: Marlene Gregor
1999: Fred Wollrab

2016 Designation as an Accredited Main Street America Program for meeting rigorous performance standards reviewed by the National Trust for Historic Preservation

2016 Friend of Tourism Award, presented to DBA Director Tricia Stiller, in recognition of the efforts put forth to promote the Bloomington Normal Area.